Nineteen MSTA members are among the 35 teachers named 2019-20 Regional Teachers of the Year as part of the Missouri Teacher of the Year program through the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

Committees comprised of peers and key stakeholders for each Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) area selected the 35 teachers, who are each now eligible for the 2020 Missouri Teacher of the Year award.

MSTA members selected are:

Agency for Teaching, Leading, and Learning

    • Courtney Dameron, Springfield R-XII – family consumer science, Hillcrest High School
    • Melissa Grandel, Fordland R-III – English language arts, Fordland High School
    • Zachary Hamby, Ava R-I – English language arts, Ava High School

Central RPDC

    • Keri Borchers, Santa Fe R-X – English language arts, Santa Fe High School

Heart of Missouri

    • Clara Bennion, Camdenton R-III – science, Camdenton High School
    • Kevin Lay, Gasconade Co. R-II – physics/physical science, Owensville High School

Kansas City RPDC

    • Maria Derner, Harrisonville R-IX – Spanish, Harrisonville Middle School
    • Blake Little, Lee’s Summit R-VII – history, Lee’s Summit High School
    • Michelle Sumler, Belton 124 – mathematics, Belton High School

Northeast RPDC

    • Marie Ebbesmeyer, Paris R-II – second grade, Paris Elementary
    • Alison Robinson, Macon Co. R-I – English language arts, Macon High School

Northwest RPDC

    • Denise Henggeler, Northeast Nodaway Co. R-V – fourth grade, Northeast Nodaway Elementary
    • Mark Korell, St. Joseph – social studies, Robidoux Middle School

South Central RPDC

    • Dan Brinkman, Washington – automotive technology, Four Rivers Career Center
    • Olga McFadden, Waynesville R-VI – German, Waynesville High School

Southeast RPDC

    • Mary Hall, Chaffee R-II – mathematics, Chaffee Junior/Senior High School
    • Shannon Porter, Zalma R-V – English language arts, Zalma Elementary

Southwest Center

    • Sarah Morris, Bronaugh R-VII – first grade, Bronaugh Elementary

St. Louis

    • Nicole Boyer, Jefferson Co. R-VII – English language arts, Jefferson High School

The Regional Teacher of the Year program began in 2016 in an effort to celebrate outstanding teachers from all areas of the state. The 2020 Missouri Teacher of the Year will be selected in August. Congratulations to all!

Visit Bunker Hill in 2019