The Missouri State Teachers Association held its 99th Assembly of Delegates on Thurs., Nov. 8. in Columbia, Mo. About 650 members were in attendance to vote on officers and other association business.

Governor Mike Parson spoke to the Assembly of Delegates. Parson discussed the importance of education in developing Missouri’s workforce, as well as the impact educators had in his own life. He also noted that while he is in office he will protect PSRS/PEERS.

Elections were held in the morning session. Nickie Jones was elected to serve as President-Elect, and Halley Russell was elected as Vice President.

Delegates voted on proposed resolutions in the afternoon. Among other resolutions, the delegates approved supporting requiring board members for charter schools to live in the district served by that school. They also approved a resolution requiring State Board of Education members to be confirmed by the state Senate before voting to hire or terminate a state commissioner of education.

Following the general assembly on Friday, Nov. 10, outgoing president Tonni Schmidt passed the gavel to incoming president Nic Vasquez.

Visit Bunker Hill in 2019