The Missouri State Teachers Association held the 2019 Assembly of Delegates on Thurs., Nov. 14. in Columbia, Mo. About 650 members were in attendance to vote on officers and other association business.

Elections were held in the morning session. Halley Russell was elected to serve as President-Elect, and Chuck Martin was elected as Vice President.

Delegates voted on proposed resolutions in the afternoon. The MSTA delegates approved resolutions supporting clear and consistently-applied school safety and discipline policies, expanding nondiscrimination protections for teachers and students, and increased support for trauma-informed initiatives.

Following the general assembly on Friday, Nov. 15, outgoing president Nic Vasquez passed the gavel to incoming president Nickie Jones and Dave Burgess delivered the keynote aimed at teaching MSTA members how to Teach Like a Pirate.