Contact: Todd Fuller 
Phone: (573) 442-3127 
Email:                                                                     Press Release 


May 10, 2018

MSTA Announces 2018 Education Media Awards 

(Columbia, MO)—The Missouri State Teachers Association today announced the winners of its annual Media Awards competition. The association’s statewide Communication Awards Committee met April 21 in Columbia to judge nominations from around the state. 

The competition recognizes outstanding coverage of education and education issues by the Missouri media. In addition, MSTA recognizes school district communication achievements. Nominations are judged on originality, impact, objectivity, timeliness, appeal and contribution to education. Awards will be presented to winners at the MSTA regional meetings. 

Winners of MSTA Media Awards this year are: 
Newspaper—Features Award:
Sedalia Democrat (daily)
St. Joseph News Press 

Newspaper—General Coverage Award:
Jefferson City News Tribune (daily)
Sedalia Democrat (daily)
Montgomery Standard (weekly)

Newspaper—Series Award:
Jefferson City News Tribune (daily)

Radio—Editorials Award:
KCMU Eagle Radio (Fayette)

Radio—Features Award:
KZIM/KSIM Radio (Cape Girardeau)

Television—Series Award:
KRCG-TV (New Bloomfield)

Winners of the MSTA Professional Communication Awards this year are: 
Audio/Visual—School Building Award:
Willard North Elementary (Willard R-2)

Audio/Visual—School District Award:
Orchard Farm R-5 School District

Newsletters/Publications—School Building Award:
r Jonesburg Elementary School (Montgomery Co. R-2)

Newsletters/Publications—School District Award:
Southern Boone Co. R-1 (Ashland)

Online Content—Facebook Award:
Orchard Farm R-5 School District

Online Content—Twitter Award:
Orchard Farm R-5 School District
Willard R-2 School District

Other Unique School Publications Award:
Saint Clair R-13 High School The Clairian 2017


Past Media Award winners.

The Missouri State Teachers Association is the largest education organization in the state, with more than 47,000 members and over 162 years of service to Missouri educators. The association’s headquarters is in Columbia, Mo., with regional field representatives throughout the state. MSTA has no national affiliation.

Visit Bunker Hill in 2019