The Missouri State Teachers Association announced the winners of its annual Media Awards competition. The association’s statewide Communication Awards Committee met April 22 in Columbia to judge nominations from around the state.

The competition recognizes outstanding coverage of education and education issues by the Missouri media. In addition, MSTA recognizes school district communication achievements. Nominations are judged on originality, impact, objectivity, timeliness, appeal and contribution to education. Awards will be presented to winners at the MSTA regional meetings.

Winners of MSTA Media Awards this year are:


Award:           The Daily Star-Journal (Warrensburg) (daily)

The Union Missourian (weekly)

Newspaper—General Coverage

Award:           Sedalia Democrat (daily)

Gasconade County Republican (weekly)

Hon. Mention:           The Union Missourian (weekly)

Newspaper—Literacy Program

Award:           Eldon Advertiser, Tammy Witherspoon (weekly)


Award:           The Daily Star-Journal (Warrensburg) (daily)

Gasconade County Republican (weekly)


            Award:           Lee’s Summit Journal, Max Londberg (weekly)

Radio—Educational Service Announcement

            Award:           KCMU Eagle Radio (Fayette)


            Award:           KZIM/KSIM Radio (Cape Girardeau)



Award:           KOAM-TV (Joplin)

Winners of the MSTA Professional Communication Awards this year are:


Audio/Visual—School Building

Award:           Willard North Elementary (Willard R-2)

Online Content—Facebook

Award:           Jonesburg Elementary Facebook Page (Montgomery Co. R-2)

Other Unique School Publications

            Award:           Saint Clair High School, The Clairian 2016