DESE’s Missouri 2018-19 Regional Teachers of the Year include MSTA Members

2018-07-23T08:51:53+00:00July 20th, 2018|Categories: Awards and Contests, MSTA People|0 Comments

Seventeen MSTA members are among the 32 teachers named 2018-19 Regional Teachers of the Year as part of the Missouri Teacher of the Year program through the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

Committees comprised of peers and key stakeholders for each Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) area selected the 32 teachers, who are each now eligible for the 2019 Missouri teacher of the year award.

MSTA members selected are:

Agency for Teaching, Leading, and Learning

  • Jean Lawson, Springfield R-XII – special education, Truman Elementary
  • Sarah Miesner, Nixa Public Schools – second grade, John Thomas School of Discovery
  • Jacque Rice, Dallas Co. R-I – instructional technology, Buffalo Middle School

Central RPDC

  • Caroline Askew, Chilhowee R-IV – library media, Chilhowee Elementary, Chilhowee High School
  • Aimee Bredehoeft, Concordia R-II – art, Concordia Elementary, Concordia High School

Heart of Missouri

  • Christina Cosgrove, Warren Co. R-III – fourth grade, Daniel Boone Elementary
  • Robyn Frame, Fulton 58 – kindergarten, Bartley Elementary 

Kansas City RPDC

  • Anne Braun, Lee’s Summit R-VII – fifth/sixth grade, Woodland Elementary
  • Elizabeth Hart, Belton 124 – special education, Kentucky Trail Elementary
  • Kate Rettig, Liberty 53 – third grade, Lillian Schumacher Elementary

Northwest RPDC

  • Kirsten Applegate, Stanberry R-II – seventh/eighth grade, Stanberry Elementary, Stanberry High School

South Central RPDC

  • Amber Galiher, West Plains R-VII – kindergarten, West Plains Elementary
  • Sarah Grodie, Meramec Valley R-III – kindergarten, Zitzman Elementary

Southeast RPDC

  • Christie Kenedy, New Madrid Co. R-I – fifth grade, Matthews Elementary

Southwest Center

  • Ruth Wydick, Lamar R-I – special education, West Elementary

St. Louis

  • Scott Borcherding, Hazelwood – mathematics, Hazelwood West High School
  • Fawn Ruch, Northwest R-I – art, Northwest High School

From the DESE media release:  “The Regional Teacher of the Year program began in 2016 in an effort to celebrate outstanding teachers from all areas of the state. The Missouri Teacher of the Year for 2018-19 will be selected in August. The program recognizes the efforts of effective teachers in providing a quality education to their students.”

DESE conducts the Missouri Teacher of the Year program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and the Monsanto Fund.

Central Methodist University

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.